I’m scared of the dark. So let’s go to a cave.

Posted on November 17, 2011

0


It doesn’t make any difference how old you are, if you’re scared of the dark there’s nothing you can do about it.  With this in mind, picking Romeo and Juliet performed in Kents Cavern was perhaps not my brightest idea, but I was going with my great friend the Elephant, so I knew she would look after me. (Being an Elephant, she probably had a torch in case it got too dark for me anyway).

It was fantastic.  Our guide welcomed us to the catacombs of Verona, then we walked in through the big, oak door of the caves and smack bang into the middle of a fight, as the wonderful Butterfly Theatre group set the scene for the beautiful, yet heart breaking tale of Juliet and her Romeo.

As our guide led us through the caves, the story unfolded before us; characters acted out the scenes, and we, the audience became part of the play.  Invited to the ball where they met; onlookers as they fell in love, kissed, talked in hushed tones in the balcony scene; witnesses as they took their vows and ultimately, mourners as they died.

It took a great amount of strength not to tell Romeo she was alive, so absorbed was I – and as we left, to return to the real world, the words ‘for never was a story of more woe than this of Juliet and her Romeo echoed around the caves.

Magical. Spellbinding. Superbly acted. As we wiped our eyes, my Elephant and I agreed, it was a real tragedy.

