Glamping? Don’t mind if I do.

Posted on July 12, 2012

2


It was the annual football team get together, to celebrate the relative success of the season, to present awards key players and to reward hard work and dedication all year with a spot of R&R. 

The team in question were under 10’s – the R&R had to suit them. That meant luxury weekend breaks or cocktail cruises were out of the question, and camping and activities were in the frame.

Now, I don’t mind a spot of camping, but I like the creature comforts too. My 10 year old doesn’t mind about showers and things like that, but plenty to do and get involved in are high on his agenda.

So, the River Dart County Park was a perfect choice for everyone.

Brilliant pitches, electric hook up, great facilities – from hot showers to a fab restaurant and bar, through to assault courses, water activities, high wires, and lots of space and fresh air.  I am sure you can figure which bits appealed to who.

It was a winner, the cleanest campsite toilets and showers I have ever experienced, and equally as great rope swings and opportunities to get soaking wet for my 10 year old.  Regardless of the weather, which I have to say was not great (It was the end of ‘flaming’ June, so what was I expecting?), the whole stay was excellent, one I will fully recommend and revisit in the future.

It’s great to see kids be kids, and in our case, grown ups be kids too. River Dart Country Park gives everyone the opportunity to be or do whatever they want to do.

And that’s not the best of it. You don’t need to camp, you can visit for the day and play to your hearts content, equally you can pick this super Dartmoor venue for celebrations of other kinds – whilst our team were receiving their medals for a great season, a wedding party were watching the happy couple say I do.  The day before a school group had built a raft, jumped into a stream, scaled the climbing wall and ‘zorbed’ like mad.

 

A multifaceted place, a haven and a hub of activity, so much happening side by side, with one thing in common: great big smiles.

For more images, please do take a look (and a like) at the facebook page today!

