I adored the Parador!

Posted on January 17, 2014

3


View from the balconyFor those of you who have read my blog about my Andalucían love affair – here’s more, following a brief encounter in December!

Do you fancy a few days in Spain, Mum asked casually.  How could I refuse? She needed to catch up with some friends, and I thought it only fitting of a good daughter to accompany her.  We decided to have a little bit of a holiday on the beach, before we went to her house in the mountains. And finally, after nearly thirty years of walking past, staring in and wondering what it would be like, I finally got to stay at the Parador de Mojácar.  And what a treat that was – well worth the wait.

Set right on Mojácar beach, with balconied rooms and an air of quiet sophistication, the Parador was just right for our few days.  Our room was pristine, with beautiful furnishings, terracotta floors, crisp white sheets and cosy blankets – and a lovely balcony, giving us great views of the sunrise and sunset, and despite the rather dodgy weather, the sea lapping – or rather crashing – on the beach.

The gardens were beautifully landscaped and maintained – a real treat in the summer to relax in, but still a pleasure to explore in the winter.  The food was well prepared, fresh and tasty, and the breakfast, wow! worth a visit just for the choice, the freshness and the ‘Spanishness’ of the whole experience.Parador gardens

The crowning glory is the warm welcome, and the excellent service provided by all members of the team – it made the stay even more of a treat.

So, my Andalucían love affair continues, with my new paramour, the Parador.

I’ll definitely be going back to Mojácar, that’s a given, and I’ll definitely be staying at the Parador on the beach, what’s more, I will definitely be adding a tour of Spain, staying in their beautiful Paradors, to my list of must dos!

 

 

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

