Home is where the heart is.

Posted on February 24, 2014

1


IMG_2292That’s for sure. Clearly my heart lies where my son is, but there’s also a special part of my heart resting on the banks of Loch Fyne, at Balliemeanoch.

Two years ago, this piece of my heart travelled from Earlsfield in South London to Loch Fyne, when my best friend upped sticks and moved to a beautiful farm house in the Argyll Forest. I was shocked. It would take so much longer to get there and I wouldn’t see her so often – what would I do?

Strangely, it couldn’t be a more different story. We decided this visit that we’d seen more of each other, and spent more quality time together since she’d been in Scotland, than we ever had chance to do in London.

We’ve spent a week reminiscing about the fun we’ve had and the people we’ve met, whilst we’ve been on long walks along the banks of the Loch or walking through the lovely forests near to the farmhouse. We’ve worked side by side in front of the roaring log fire, and we’ve cooked the most delicious food, and eaten out at lovely restaurants and with her new, hilarious, friends.

But mostly, we’ve spent time together. Precious time with a special friend, who, no matter where she is will always be just a hop, skip and a jump away, but always in my heart.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

